To Battle With the Fickle

“What in heaven’s name is wrong with you? Are you really that stupid? You sound so ignorant. I don’t even know why I am talking to you. You are a waste of time.” I am pretty sure that is what people hear when I talk to them. I am a screamer and I am terribly high-strung. I am so opinionated and will not budge from my ideas, that it bothers me sometimes. As a wise man, Shakespeare, once said, “Such as we are made of, such we be.” Anyhow, who is judging, right? They are. They all are.

I used to be pretty content with my arguments. It’s how I got through my days. I am a debater and I love information. However, lately it has gone downhill. I had several people who I enjoyed talking to and verbally fighting with. I guess they were belligerent and conceited like me. But they are no longer part of my life and I am deeply saddened by that. Where have all the fervent strong-minded people gone? We are left with hoards of fickle. They are in fact a fickle group of people, easily swayed by whoever is speaking.

People are no longer forming opinions from facts. The beliefs now consist of what people think should be thought. Now that doesn’t really help me when all I want to do is create a dispute and controversy. Sounds pretty sad, perhaps, but it keeps me on my toes. I learn new information from every argument. New ideas are revealed to me. I develop further assumptions.

Nowadays, debates consists of two phenomenons. In one scenario, I speak beautiful words of wisdom without a response, for what feels like all eternity, and watch as little light bulbs go on in their heads. They look at me and say, “Wow. You are right.” You would think that I would prefer agreement because it would leave me feeling far superior and bright, but it does not. I want them to have something to say and not end my conversation right there. They mold to your beliefs. Terribly upsetting.

Next is the one that peers at you in sheer horror. They look as though you had slapped them in the face. They get so defensive and stutter and spit. It seems as though they believe that you just targeted them and they don’t know what they could have done wrong to offend. Hey, don’t be so flattered. If it wasn’t you, it would have been the next guy. I don’t have specific targets. If I did, I would have never chosen you.

But still, even in the latter case, not a sensible word is uttered. They either don’t have enough “ammunition” knowledge, or they are so crushed and defenseless and cannot even whisper a sound, or they feel as though I will not listen anyways. I do firmly believe in what I say but it is easily changed if I am shown a more truthful approach. I am not in it to win, although it may appear so. I like to talk. I like to debate. I will fight till the very end but I can change my ideas and I love hearing other sides.

If only people would give me the chance to hear their knowledge. Enlighten me with wisdom…

{And no, NOT on my blog. I refuse to argue in comment form. Give me a controversial topic and I will see if I want to further it. But that is all.}

Posted on January 13, 2011, in My Daily Blogs and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. hey, ur family aint goin nowhere… and they all like a nice fight.

  2. haha to you two. its because there are unspoken rules regarding social acceptableness.(i dont care if thats not a real word)
    people like to have a good feeling when they talk to others and dont like to be jumped on.if you do, then find your people, but dont pick on people like me!

Leave a Reply

