Once You Go Black, There’s No Going Back

ODE TO MY BELOVED

O, Love, thou hadst truly swept me away
So pure, so fine. A taste oh so sweet
Passionately enamored. In hope the magic will stay

The smooth and succulent craving
Thou hast me deeply enthralled
A tease, intense desire, into which I am caving

So far from infatuation, how real thou art
A powerful enchantment. A dizzying spell
A deep, tender love thou dost impart

Thou shalt be mine, thou hadst overcome me
Molten waves, thou hadst rushed through all veins
Heart engulfed by a decadent, milky sea

A hopeless romantic, O, Chocolate, I adore thee
All’s right in the world, no more perfect can it be

 

I know, I had you there for a second, didn’t I?

I used to love the flavor, vanilla. It was only vanilla for me and chocolate was like the devil. ‘Don’t bother it and it wont bother you‘ was my belief. Years later, I surrendered and was taken captive by its grace. I fought it for a while because I felt unfaithful. But after a while, it bothered me no more. I was having an affair with my chocolate sweetheart.

Who cares about being disloyal when you have something as pure and as rich as the finest of all flavors. Every day, the frozen pint sits on the shelf awaiting my arrival. I never understood why people cared for it, but now it is clear. It inspires me with its flavor, intoxicates me with its scent, and delights me with its taste.

I am drooling as I type. (My husband wants to know why the letter ‘K’ doesn’t work)

I would love to know who invented chocolate with walnuts. I am forever indebted to them. Chocolate ice cream with walnuts and pieces of bittersweet chunks. Ahh! It’s a burst of crunchy, buttery, decadent, and smooth all in one bite. It really can save you from the worst possible day.

So thank you my sugar baby for always being there for me and for always being just a spoon away.

“A study reported by the BBC indicated that melting chocolate in one’s mouth produced an increase in brain activity and heart rate that was more intense than that associated with passionate kissing, and also lasted four times as long after the activity had ended.” (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Chocolate)

If you haven’t tried it yet, you must. It will sweep you off your feet, bring butterflies to your stomach, and spin you in a dizzying, magical, and passionate spell. You will fall in love.You will be enchanted.

Some facts: All About Chocolate

  • Produced from the seed of the tropical Theombra Cacao tree.
  • Unadulterated chocolate beans impart a strong deep chocolate flavor.
  • It contains alkaloids which have a physiological effect on the body.
  • Eaten in moderation, it can lower blood pressure.
FINE PRINT: Although there are many potential health benefits and intense pleasure involved with its consumption, it may lead to a myriad of Chocoholic Anonymous Meetings and increase the risk of severe obesity. The obsession may lead to vanilla death. Inhale with caution.

Posted on February 21, 2011, in My Daily Blogs and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. and I, who has always been a faithful lover of chocolate has succumbed to the succulent taste of coffee…. I will forever be ridden with guilt as my eyes roll back, and I surrender to the coffee flavor of which replaced my previous love, oh thee fair chocolate flavor…and that’s all that you shall remain, just fair my friend, plain and fair.

  2. I am trying to stay as far as I can, lest I fall to its intoxication. As of now, I no longer Hate coffee, I just only taste it. Get back to me on that one.

  3. pessie just came up 3 flights to see what we were laughing about thanx for the memories( for some reason i think i remember that one)

  4. A piece of spicy dark chocolate in my mouth while sipping an unsweetened coffee or chai tea can almost do more for me than my husband can. TMI? Ha, you got me with your ode. That Lucy scene is classic, who doesn’t love that?

Leave a Reply

