A Nile Nugget

  I know that this is, perhaps, random, but that is what I love about my blog. My brain always  spins over a large spectrum of ideas and in many motions. And today, I feel the need to post a recipe. I mixed and matched a few recipes to whip up a dinner, last night, for my clan. Of course, mostly in vain, being that my crew likes basic grilled cheese sandwiches and bland macaroni. It is not as bad as it sounds, at least I get left with a large assortment of leftovers.

  I had some Nile Perch fish, and I don’t quite like the banal and unimpressive recipes which throw in some mayo and spices before baking the fish until it flakes. I feel the need to alter my routine of quick and easy meals. Silly me, I thought it would go by uneventful. Of course, I screamed like a banshee more than several times. Child Number 3 is a tiny step away from killing the kitten. I will refrain from saying more, lest the pet police come banging down my door from my public rant about possible animal abuse.

  Aside from all the chaos of riding toys whizzing past my legs and just barely missing my poor, sore ankles on most occasions, and all of the squeals of delight as poor little Pebbles get yanked, poked, and prodded; I succeeded in making the food and a week’s worth of leftovers. If you decide to make it, add some pretty steamed veggies to add color. I decided against it because, remember, this family likes drab and easy.

Nile Nuggets, Dill Sauce, and Mashed Potatoes with Spinach:


You will need:

Frozen Nile Perch
Batter for coating
Potatoes
Frozen Spinach
Dill sauce

(I chose the frozen fish because it was easier to cut)

1. Cube the fish into bite-sized pieces and put in the fridge.

2. Make the batter for the fish and refrigerate, for at least an hour, to thicken.

  •   1 cup flour (I used whole wheat)
  •   1/2 tsp baking powder
  •   1 tsp salt
  •   Dash of cayenne and garlic powder
  •   1 tbsp paprika
  •   1/2-3/4 cup water (until it’s a good consistency)
  •   2 tbsp oil
  •   2 eggs

3. Make the dill sauce. I am pretty sure that any sauce would be good with these, so if you are a sweet and sour fan, or ranch dressing lover, than use those. I just really prefer dill with my fish. You can add and subtract, according to your taste, with the amounts of dill and mayonnaise. Chop it in a food processor or with hand blender and refrigerate for at least an hour, to bring out the dill taste.    

  • 1/2 bunch of fresh dill
  • 1 tbsp minced garlic (I use store-bought to free my hands from the crushing garlic smell) 
  • 2-3 tbsp vinegar (or lemon)
  • 1-1/2   cups of light mayonnaise
  • Sugar substitute or 1 tbsp sugar
  • Salt and pepper to taste
  • 1 tbsp water (or add more if it is too thick)

4. Boil some potatoes and drain. Mash it up with some butter/margarine and milk or soy/rice milk. We have to keep things dairy-free here for Child Number 3, so as you wish. Add some salt and pepper to taste and some defrosted spinach for the extra nutrients and color. Then, scoop it with an ice cream scooper onto a serving dish or each personal plate. You can add a dollop of sour cream, if you desire.

5. Dip the fish cubes into the batter and fully coat. Drop them separately into a frying pan with very hot oil and flip them when they turn golden.

  I served it with a fruit salad, but mix it up however you like it. French fries would make it like a fish and chip, but would be too much frying. The kids like plain potatoes, of course, so that was our side dish. Add some color and enjoy.

Bon appetit!

Posted on June 28, 2011, in My Daily Blogs and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. i really was gonna taste them and so was shragi but i was too embarrassed to call and ask oh well our loss next time i will

Leave a Reply

