Overbloggers Anonymous (OBA)

  I think this problem has been quite prevalent over the web, and I felt that there was a need for it to be addressed. It is time for someone to set up a program for all these people to get through their recovery of overblogging.

  It all began when WordPress decided to have this Post a Day 2011, to get bloggers to all join in the challenge of daily habitual posts. Can people post every day? For sure, they definitely can. Should they? No, probably not. Generally speaking, unless you are professional writer and you are slowly putting out a complete masterpiece over the course of the week, maybe you shouldn’t post every day. Of course everyone can do as they please, although, I find it hard to make it through most of their blogs.

  I wish I had more time; however, due to life, it is difficult for me to follow all these blogs. Occasionally, I get to go check out the Freshly Pressed, which helps me meet new, talented, fellow bloggers. When I absolutely love their style and relate to their topics, I subscribe. Problem is, though, I usually regret it and unsubscribe a few days later. From my experience, bloggers are able to have, at most, one amazing post per week. There are exceptions every now and then, but when people are forced to write every day, it seems to become more like Facebook status changes and far too unbearable for the viewers.

  Post a Week 2011, is a wonderful idea. You have a whole week to discover ideas and build them up to perfection. When you finally give out that long-awaited post, we read with more excitement and enjoy it more. The themes are not mundane and ritual. They are a compilation of a weeks-worth of inspired thoughts. Well worth waiting for.

  If you are a blogger that is overcome by the urge to post, and wisdom cascades from your brain and onto the screen, this hobby is for you. If you have little sticky notes and pens in your purse and in every room of your house, to make sure you don’t lose a thought; this is your forte. However, if you feel like you must keep up with the challenge and get something out every day, no matter what; stay away. If you feel like it is you duty to present a post daily for your viewers; please don’t bother.

  Many of you are exceptional writers, chefs, photographers, politics lovers, moms, avid Hollywood followers, and crafting geniuses. I hope you all keep sharing with us your views on the latest politics and news. I love to be enlightened by photography of other countries and moments right in our backyards. I drool over the exquisite and enticing recipes that I would have never known of. I relish in the stories of love, and I  am moved by the tragedy and family tales. I am thoroughly amused by your children’s quips and your endless humor. The crafts are remarkable and the art is incredible.

  I don’t ever want these posts to become a rarity. I don’t want you, ever, to cease to amaze me and inspire me. I just wish that my fellow bloggers would limit their work to when they are truly excited and motivated. You should never feel forced to post, it changes our blogosphere. To make sure that you keep your skills in tact, post once a week, or so, and do your best. They don’t have to be perfect, and you don’t need to entertain anyone but yourself. Post when you feel like you want to, not when you must.

  You will get far more viewers, over the years, who will want to keep you around. Those who wont unsubscribe because their inbox overflows daily with gibberish in post form. It may be a slow and steady build, but you will get there. Be strong and do what you love. Don’t let challenges dictate your blog. Show everyone what you got, when you have it, and not when you don’t.

  Keep up the blogging and let go of the pressures.

The Twelves Steps of Overbloggers Anonymous:

 (A personal version based on the original Twelve-step program of Alcoholics Anonymous)

1. We admit we are powerless while involved in widely accepted challenges and now our blogs have become unmanageable.
2. Believe that writing on our own terms can help us gain inspiration and produce better posts.
3. Made a decision to make our blogs our own and not be victims of competition.
4. Made a searching and thorough inventory of our thoughts before posting.
5. Admitted to ourselves, and to another fellow blogger, the exact nature of our mistaken previous attempt of Post a Day.
6. We’re entirely ready to prevent more of these deficient posts from our blog in the future.
7. Humbly asked Him to remove our shortcomings in falling for competition.
8. Made a list of all viewers we had pained with our posts, and became willing to make amends to them by posting less and better.
9. Made direct apologies to such people wherever possible.
10. Continued to take daily notes, and when we were posting unreadily; promptly admitted it.
11. Sought through practice and research to improve our blogs, praying for knowledge and good ideas to carry that out.
12. Having had an awakening as the result of these steps, we tried to carry this message to overbloggers, and to practice these principles in all our blogs.

As always, thanks for stopping by.

Posted on July 14, 2011, in My Daily Blogs and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 27 Comments.

  1. This is obviously something you’ve been thinking about for a while. Very nicely written post. I don’t necessarily agree with everything you said, but you certailny got me thinking.

    I’m one of those people who blogs every day — not because I feel like I have to, or because I’m competing, or because of a WordPress competition. I just really enjoy blogging. I have post-it notes stuck on my wall with ideas, I have a schedule of topics posted on my blog, and I have posts written and scheduled up to a week in advance. (I always blog in advance. With 2 small children, there’s no other way to do it.) Possibly I bore people, and possibly those people who have subscribed subsequently unsubscribe. But I’m blogging for the love of it, not to please other people. (Although I won’t lie and say I’m not thrilled when I get good traffic!)

    Unlike you, I’m more inclined to unsubscribe when someone posts once a week or less. I follow over 60 blogs (I use Google Reader. It’s the only way I can keep up with them!) and because I have a very busy life, I have limited (scheduled) time each day for reading blogs. I don’t have time to sit and wonder “who is this person? why did I subscribe to their blog again?” each time someone posts. I like to feel the connection that comes with 3 or more posts per week.

    But I’m not commenting so that I can argue with you, either on behalf of my own blog or the ones I follow. I really enjoyed your post, and I agree with you. If you’re only blogging to fulfil a quota, it’s not going to be very inspiring for you or anyone else. But if you’re enjoying it, and you’re passionate about what you want to say, then go for it. Sometimes what you want to say isn’t going to appeal to everyone who’s subscribed to your blog, and that’s okay. Sometimes your post might be short, mundane, or trivial, and that’s okay too. Sometimes life is all of those things.

    • You have said it well.

      Like I said, exceptions. There are always exceptions. I find you to be a writer, and writers can write a lot more than others. I have been thinking about this problem for a while, but wrote it all today. I have been following blogs that I found had written amazing posts, but now I see that many of those continue to post but now have been trying to “fulfill a quota”. They don’t nearly match up to their occasional good one. I don’t think all posts have to be perfect or even good, just thought out.

      Many people started bringing in posts from other people to make sure they post every day. However, when I like someones writing, I most definitely don’t want to read about random Joe’s views or different style.

      You are a true writer and there is nothing wrong with posting every day if you can. Like I said, the post-it notes all over proves my point. This is your life and keep on posting. I wish I had time to read everyones posts and comment- such as on yours. I try to get in a few reads when I have a chance, but sometimes all I have time for is to even get out one post a week. I wish I had time and information for another, but I don’t. If you do, go for it.

      And yes, mundane and trivial is fine, as long as it is not a FB status update. I have seen FP blogs that said: “It’s snowing outside and my kid has off from school once again” and a bit more. That is for Twitter.

      Thanks for commenting. Keep writing and being passionate about your blog. In the end, it is for you.

  2. Love love love love love this post!! I know for me, personally, if I blogged everyday I would churn out crap. Pure crap. The format of my blog is atypical: longer post, in which I tell a story (as opposed to personal thoughts and reflections), and I only post 2-3 month. Each post takes me 4-6 hours to work on, (have to gather those notes, LOL) and I could not imagine posting every single day. I don’t have that kind of brain power!!!

    • I know. And I absolutely LOVE your posts (stories). They are long and I must find time for them but well worth every bathroom break I have to push off to squeeze them into my schedule. I still haven’t found time to read the latest- it sits open on my computer for the first break I get. Can’t wait.

  3. Excellent points. I have thought many of the same things. Some blogs I have lost interest because you can tell when someone is trying too hard just for the sake of getting a post “out there”. It is hard not to fall into that trap though and I recently felt that pressure and said it’s time for a break.

    I normally write when I feel that strong sudden inspiration and urge, almost like I have to get it all out right in that moment. This is when I have my best posts. Not that I write a lot anyway. I was only managing one post every few weeks. But now I’ve found even this to be too much this summer. I am not going to write just for the sake of churning something out. If I lose subscribers because I haven’t posted in a few months, oh well. I know my true genuine readers will stick with me when I decide to sit down and write again.

    • Thanks. And thanks for stopping by. I happen to love reading your blog, although I have the hardest time finding free time for reading. Stay away in the summer and enjoy the relaxation. Before you know it, in probably a shorter time than you imagine, you will be overwhelmed with a post.

  4. I’m stopping in via Logophile Jo’s link.

    I agree completely with your post. Then again, some people are fantastic and I can never get enough and it’s not okay for *them* to limit, heh!

    I’d also like to add my own pet peeve … people saying “Anyways” in a post. When I catch myself saying that word, I jump back a few paragraphs, figure out where it shot off, and nip that bud.

    • Lol. I am not sure if “lol” and “anyways” fall into the same category in your eyes, but when I comment and I am laughing, I find it hard to express it without LOL. Writing “anyways”, hmmmm… I never thought of that. Did I do it? I will check. Thanks for stopping by.

  5. Sadly, I fall within the “blog post a day keeps the doctor away” camp. (That’s a real saying, right?) I keep each post to 500 words or less, normally; and I’d like to think the simple, funny (I hope) stories don’t represent steaming piles of dog poop. But then again, perhaps I’m deluded, and a twelve step program is exactly what I need?

    • Keep doing what you love. If your write every day, than fine, as long as you don’t feel pressured. I am not sure how someone could write a humorous, or intellegent, or interesting post every day unless it is their job. If you have all the time in the world to keep your blog flourishing and you enjoy it- keep on posting. This was for the other ones… I will have to check your blog out to see.

  6. Great post! I have had the same thoughts, but would not have been able to write such a good post about it.I agree that Post A Day 2011 is absolutely insane!

    • Thanks. I am still looking for that blogger who writes well every day. Or even most of them. I’m sure there are, but I will stick to once a week + extra inspirational posts as they come.

  7. I have found myself in the same situation, where I subscribe to someone’s blog and then I am inundated with daily posts that I can barely get through. I unsubscribed from someone who posted MULTIPLE times a day and I couldn’t relate to what he was putting out there.

    It is rare for me to post more than twice a day, though it has happened. For the most part, I blog 2-3 times a week because I am also blogging on my photography website and have a FT job. I prefer quality over quantity and while I do think that serious writers write every single day, it’s not necessarily publishable. I think I read one particular blog every single day (since she posts every.single.day) but I don’t think I read every post, just what seems interesting to me. (For example, I do not read about her Homeschooling adventures, as I have no children.)

    Anyhow, great post, thoughtful ideas – thanks for this!

    • Multiple times a day???? Wow, I have not known that to exist. If I had time and plenty of adventures, I would probably blog more days a week. But life over here is not that exciting for others to read and so I will keep it to when I feel inspired. If you got time, go for it. Just keep them readable. 🙂 Thanks for stopping by.

  8. I’m pretty much a daily blogger and enjoy it. If you want to read someone who posts daily and does it well I recommend thegoodgreatsby at wordpress.

  9. I subscribed to Post a Day, but I have never used any of their suggestions. I have no trouble coming up with stuff to write about. I do worry that I post too often, but not all of my subscribers read everything. I write about my travels and I love to do it. I also like to get comments from people I have never met. I love the fact that I have brought people to our little village in Italy and they seem to enjoy themselves when they get there. I have even been responsible for people buying property in the area. Who knew what blogging could lead to?

  10. Great post. You certainly have given this a lot of thought. Thank you. i agree with Chris about thegoodgreatsby.wordpress.com I know when I check in he will propel me through the day chuckling and mulling over a comment. It’s awesome to see these ideas generated daily and his thoughts are fresh! Thankfully, I’m subscribed to a few authors with whom I feel connected, and whose work I find interesting. i started out posting once a week, and somehow I have evolved to Sunday night/Thursday night posts twice a week. It’s working for me right now. I agree with notesfromafrica who commented in another post on her site, that her blogging site is her “happy place”. I’m there right now and will continue to do so as long as I have something to read/comment/like or post.

  11. —I loved this!
    I post every other day.
    but I subscribe to 25 other posts…..it’s a full time job!
    I sometimes wonder if I’m posting too often.
    ….but then I think, Well, if they dont’ want to read, that’s okay.
    thanks for the tips 🙂

    • Thanks. You always have to stay strong and do what you love. Don’t let any other blogger change that about you. It is your personal place and keep on posting. Truth really is that no one is forced to read what they don’t like. Thanks for stopping by.

  12. Hi, I got here a little late via Nathan Badley, and I have to thoroughly agree with you. I don’t quite understand why wordpress is trying to challenge people into blogging more. I mean, what’s it to them? Only recently they have added another feature aimed at increasing post output – their posting goal in the new sidebar. I criticised this in their post, basically on grounds that I am posting because and when I’ve got something to say rather than just to fulfill a quota (yay, another post closer to my posting goal of 65!). Unfortunately people with my opinion were very few and far between in this forum. Strange, indeed!
    I started my blog very recently, mainly because I found myself repeatedly in situations where I thought I needed to share my frustration or thoughts with likeminded people, or maybe even get a different point of view from someone else. So over the last 2 years or so I have collected ideas for posts which are now waiting to be written. Sure, theoretically I could churn out a post per day. But: 1) I am a stay-at-home mother, so I rarely get more than 3-4 hours of me time (which includes hubby time as well as my other interests) a day. Probably 2 of them are currently filled with blogging, reading other blogs and commenting on them. Which is the maximum I can defend before my family and myself – I don’t want to become a complete blogging nerd. 2) I write in a foreign language. I am German, living in the UK which is the source of all my frustrations and hence the topic of my blog. So writing a post probably takes me about double the time it would a native speaker. It’s not my mother tongue but I strive to get it right and add some humour as well. 3) At multiple requests from many of my German friends and family I have started a German equivalent to islandmonkeys to enable them to take part in my adventures. Plus I get some extra sympathy, one can never have too much of that. So translating my posts so that they are still fun to read takes a monent or two as well.
    All in all I ended up posting once a week, usually when one of my pet peeves surfaces again, and it suits me to the ground. That way I have also enough time to react to comments on my blog which I find not only polite but also vital for a pleasant and productive blogosphere. Coming to think of it, I probably prefer one hit where the reader commented and added something to my view of things over 100 hits on a post.
    Ok, sorry this was a bit longer than anticipated but you see, I find comments important 😉 Thanks for raising this topic and writing so skillfully about it.

    • That was incredibly long but very much enjoyed. Thanks for all that. I love when I get comments. I can’t believe that English is not your native tongue, it seemed flawless. I am a huge fan of long comments and I don’t usually leave two worded ones like “nice post” so this was very much my speed. It must be so hard to translate it every time. Why don’t you write in your language and have a translation tab like I do? This way everyone can read it and you can have an easier time writing… Thanks for stopping by and commenting, of course 🙂

      • Thanks for the compliment, I guess being married to a South African does that to me. He takes the mick out of me when I pronounce a word the wrong way or try to translate a German idiom literally.
        Which, incidentally, is also the reason why I don’t do the translation tab thing. Too much gets lost in translation. mostly the humour and often the sense as well.
        As to why I don’t write in German and then translate, well for two reasons. Firstly, I am adressing my posts to the island monkeys, hoping to get some explanations but mostly because they actually know what I’m talking about. When I translate these things into German I often have to explain the underlying facts beforehand (like in the ‘Boys in tights’ post; no German would have understood my grief otherwise). Secondly, it’s actually easier to do this way around. If I write in German first, I always run the risk of using German figures of speech, only translated into English. This way I force myself to think in English and use English idioms and puns. Translating it then into my mother tongue is always easier than the other way around.

  1. Pingback: Monday’s Top 5 | The Happy Logophile

  2. Pingback: Post A Day – what a lot of bloggers are thinking | Notes from Africa

Leave a Reply

