Thank you SOPA, thanks for nothing!

I have two new fascinations; clouds, and driving on the wrong side of the road. I am not sure which came first though. Perhaps it was from my frequent daydreams, while driving, that made me drift from my lane and check out the clouds that were suddenly noticeable above my wandering gaze. Or possibly just because I am constantly staring in fascination at the magnificent, plush clouds that I have been rolling astray. I desperately want to climb up there and curl up in the heavenly silky, down floating cushions, and maybe reach out a few times to take little licks of the sticky and sweet spun air. (Wow, I must be tired…) Either way, I can’t stop doing either.

Sometimes I question how I miss all of the small wonders of the our every day life, and then I remind myself how consumed I am with chores and the speed of the dashing days and it all makes sense. The scenery is quite incredible if you take a moment to breathe in the fresh air. But what a silly thought, who has time for that.

I am too busy complaining of my lack of time and being so lazy, sometimes I even wonder. I just walked through my front door tapping my key chain. It took me a few minutes to finally realize what I was even doing. As if I have power front-door locks on my house. Imagine that, a click on the remote control key fob. Seriously, what has become of me, am I really that lazy? Yes… Sadly I am.

I blame my not-getting-things-done issue on the speed of the days, but really it’s probably not just that. I thought, perhaps, that I was just not excited enough about things and so I just let most things slide by, but it’s not that either. I have very promising business ideas and I have almost everything I need to begin, I just can’t seem to start the project. It seems that I am afraid that it will take off, and what will I do then? I will have to work. I will have to break the incredibly awful habit of laziness.

I am starting a culinary course in February in the hope of cracking the lazy life. I spent the whole last night ordering from websites to prepare for my dreams of fortune as a possibly successful entrepreneur. (Hey, it takes money to make money) Imagine my horror when I saw all the website blackouts in protest of SOPA. A life without piracy? How will I ever survive?

What will I fill the empty gaps in my day with if not for my amazing, but illegal, entertainment. The one place we had that was hospitable to all copyright infringements may go bust; now that is a death penalty to free internet. The claim is, “To promote prosperity, creativity, entrepreneurship, and innovation by combating the theft of U.S. property, and for other purposes.” —H.R. 3261 

The fight against theft, I understand (although I am quite saddened by the idea), but the “and for all other purposes” is what scares me most. It threatens our freedom of speech and possibly our blogs. I am just picturing my blog after publishing, with a big fat image plastered over the screen:

Oh, by the way, I stole that image. What happens now? Do I get a double slap of the photo rebuking my violation of their government images? I wonder. I am trying to prepare myself for the worst. Just know, if the bill passes (even though they are losing supporters fast) and you visit my blog  and you are faced with several of the above images, you are missing out. I am sure there were a lot of wonderful posts, with several to many paragraph excerpts stolen from far better blogs. The images would have been exceptional as well, and I would have taken illegitimate credit for those as well. I am just trying desperately to impress you guys and display my incredible talent (or someones else’s), so sue me.

In case I lose my freedom of expression and my English license to write as I please, and my independence to be honest or steal at my leisure; just know, I really did love this blog while it lasted. Although all of my writing abilities will possibly transform into a public offense, I am quite relieved to have gotten my feelings out in the open.

In the event that it is several months from now, post the new law, and someone is looking at this page and it has a huge government ownership image over my above text, know there was good stuff under there. Pity the government stole my freedom of opinion and yours of reading.

Francis Scott Key, for an amateur poet you did an exceptional job on your 1814 poem, The Star Spangled Banner, and it was a huge hit. But I am terribly sorry that it has been altered. I apologize that you aren’t around to fight for you rights of copyright. They changed your poem without your consent. Don’t worry, it is not the first or the last of times that the government is infringing on our rights as free people.

Oh, say can you see by the dawn’s early light
What so proudly we hailed at the twilight’s last gleaming?
Whose broad stripes and bright stars thru the perilous fight,
O’er the ramparts we watched were so gallantly streaming?
And the rocket’s red glare, the bombs bursting in air,
Gave proof through the night that our flag was still there.
Oh, say does that star-spangled banner yet wave
O’er the land of the enslaved and F.S.K. turning in his grave

or, other possible variations:  O’er the land of the suppressed, and an internet grave

O’er the land free of copyright infringement and the home that nothing can save

Thanks for reading! (or looking at images)

Welcome to our new world.

Posted on January 21, 2012, in My Daily Blogs and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

